About Us

Positive and Productive

The boys of Troop 69, along with our dedicated volunteers, provide a scouting environment that stays positive through all the challenges that come our way as we partner to grow the independence of young men in our community. 

The members of Troop 69 makeup a varied cross-section of the Alpharetta community. Some are members ot the church, but many others are not. We have boys from all of the middle and high schools in the Alpharetta - Roswell - Johns Creek - Milton - Cumming area including but not limited to: Webb Bridge, Autrey Mill, Northwestern middle schools, Alpharetta High, Milton High, Chattahoochee High, Johns Creek HS, North Park High, Cambridge High, Fulton Science High and many local private schools.

Our troop consists of 131 boys, and is very active in camping, community service and advancement.

The Troop Committee Chairman is Cory Kelsh and the Scoutmaster is Doug Butler.

The troop meets on Monday nights from 7:00 to 8:30 P.M. at the Alpharetta First Methodist Church, www.https://amchurch.com which is located at 69 North Main Street, Alpharetta, GA 30004. We meet in the Student Center in the building just south of the old sanctuary building. Our philosophy on adult leaders: "many hands lighten the load". So if you are an adult (male or female) and you are committed to providing the very best Scouting experience for your son, then come join us at Troop 69!

Map directions. http://www.mapquest.com/maps/map.adp?country=US&addtohistory=&address=69+North+Main+Street&city=Alpharetta&state=&zipcode=30004&homesubmit.x=0&homesubmit.y=0

History of the troop:

Troop 69 was founded by Mr. Jim Gebhardt in 1981 in hopes to extend scouting principles into the community. The troop's original charter organization was St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic Church in Roswell and was changed to Alpharetta First United Methodist Church in Alpharetta, where it now resides.

Troop 69 Scoutmasters:

1983-1994 Jim Gebhardt

1994-1998 Bob Poole

1998 David Roper

1998-2004 Peter Voorhees

2004-2006 Drew Barnard

2006- 2008 Lionel Bourn

2008-2009 Drew Barnard 

2009-2012 Pat Dennis

2012 - 2015 John Ames

2015 - 2018 Scott Haygood 

2018-2020 Scott Kelly 

2020-present Doug Butler

Troop 69 Committee Chairs

1983-1995 Tim Quinn

1995-1998 Art Mignerey

1998 Randy Michael

1998-2001 Tom Gordon

2001-2005 Wayne Mote

2005-2010 Steve Tipton

2010-2014 Rick Leigh

2014 - 2018 - Betty Lou Anderson

2018- present Cory Kelsh 

2015-16 Toop69 Brochure3.59 MB